New Isiolo Speaker Mohamed Roba Qoto chairs House business after he was elected on September 20, 2022. PHOTO/PRESS POINT

By Sarah Omondi

Five former MCAs and at least three former MPs have clinched County Assembly Speaker seats across the country.

They are Kajiado’s Justus Ngusor, Joel Karuri (Biashara-Naivasha), Ayub Bundi (Abothuguchi Central), Azhar Ali Mbarak (Shella) and Enock Okero (Manga) who have been elected as Kajiado, Nakuru, Meru, Lamu and Nyamira Assembly Speakers respectively.

Mr Ngusor of UDA garnered 26 votes against closest competitor Koin Rompo of ODM who got 14 votes while Mr Karuri got 50 votes trailed by Martin Mwangi who managed 25.

Mr Bundi garnered 35 votes against Tigania East MP Mpuru Aburi’s son Rodgers 34 in the hotly contested race with Mr Orero bagging 26 votes to become Nyamira Speaker.

Ex-MPs Chris Omulele (Luanda), James Gichuhi (Tetu), Teddy Mwambire (Ganze), Omar Mohamed Maalim (Mandera East) and Christopher Nakuleu of Turkana North are the new Speakers of Vihiga, Nyeri, Kilifi, Mandera and Turkana counties.

Mr Omulele trounced 11 others in the contest while Mr Gichuhi got 40 votes out of the total 42 taking over from John Kaguchia who  was elected Mukurweini MP in August 9 elections.

Mr Johnson Mukuha who was prevailed upon by President William Ruto not to vie for Kangema MP seat after losing in UDA primaries is the new Murang’a Speaker.

Mr Mwambire who lost the seat to Kenneth Kazungu garnered 37 votes against closest competitor James Mlewa who garnered 13 votes while Mr Maalim who lost MP seat in the August polls was elected new Mandera Speaker unopposed.

Two-term Turkana North MP Nakuleu was elected unopposed.

Makueni Speaker Douglas Mbilu retained the seat after flooring former Nairobi gubernatorial candidate Polycarp Igathe’s running mate Philip Kaloki. He garnered 26 votes against Kaloki’s 21.

His Elgeyo Marakwet, Kisumu, Embu and Bungoma counterparts Philemon Sabulei, Elisha Jack Oraro, Josiah Thiriku and Emmanuel Situma were also reelected with Mr Sabulei unopposed after four other contestants quit the race.

Reelection of Embu’s Speaker came amid a court order barring him from participating in the elections.

Two former county finance executives Dr Patrick Mutai (Kericho) and Andrew Wanyonyi of Trans Nzoia were elected Speakers to the respective Assemblies.

Ms Anne Kiusya is the new Machakos Assembly Speaker after flooring closest competitor Bernard Mung’ata.

In Narok, ex-Kilgoris CDF Manager Davis Dikir clinched the seat after garnering 34 votes with pioneer Speaker Nicholas Kamwaro coming second in the race.

Sh208 million Sportpesa jackpot winner Cosmas Kipngetich Korir (2018) has been elected Bomet Speaker.

Two lawyers Philemon Cheruiyot and Kelvin Kinengo are the new Nandi and Kitui Speakers respectively.

The latter previously worked with Wiper Leader Kalonzo Musyoka and trounced eight others after garnering 51 votes.

Seth Mwatela Kamanza who unsuccessfully vied for Kinango MP seat won the Kwale Speaker race after garnering 20 out of 30 votes.

Mr Philip Muigei was sworn in as the new Uasin Gishu Speaker after garnering 25 votes against closest competitor Nancy Chemutai’s 19.

Pioneer Tharaka Nithi Speaker John Mbabu made a comeback after garnering 16 out of the total 23 votes.

Former executive advisor to Director of Criminal Investigations George Kinoti was Tuesday unanimously elected Isiolo’s third Speaker.

Mohammed Roba Qoto clinched the seat after bagging all the 18 votes with his competitors Hassan Kumpa and Paul Mero garnering zero votes.

Abdille Yusuf takes over as Wajir Speaker after garnering 42 votes with closest competitor Idris Abdi coming second with three votes.

After unsuccessfully vying for Bomachoge Borabu MP seat, Dr Philip Nyanumba Machuki clinched the Kisii Speaker seat.

He garnered 47 votes against his competitor Eric Janganya’s 21.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here