Public Service Commission offices in Nairobi. PHOTO/COURTESY

By Sarah Omondi

Former Chuka University Vice-Chancellor Erastus Nyaga Njoka who unsuccessfully vied for Tharaka Nithi gubernatorial seat and Higher Education Loans Board boss Charles Mutuma Ringera are among the 477 candidates shortlisted for the Principal Secretary jobs.

Other high profile names in the list is IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati’s wife Mary, IEBC Corporate communications manager Tabitha Mutemi, Micro and Small Enterprises Authority (MSEA) Chief executive Henry Mwenda Rithaa and Public Service Commission’s head of corporate communications Browne Kutswa.

Former Kisii Deputy Governor Joash Maangi who lost in the County Senate race, ex-Langata MP Generali Nixon Korir, former Nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura and Joseph Gitile Naituli, a professor of Management and Leadership and former commissioner at the National Cohesion and Integration Commission also feature in the list.

More than 10 serving PSs and Chief Adminstrative Secretaries are seeking to be retained while several former PSs including those who quit to try their luck in politics are seeking a comeback into the public service.

There are currently 44 Principal Secretaries serving in different government departments but Kenya Kwanza has increased the positions to 49.

Among those seeking to be retained is PSs Kevit Desai (East African Community) Amb. Kirimi Peter Kaberia (Industrialization), Saitoti Torome (Planning), Solomon Kitungu (Transport), Dr Andrew Tuimur (Water, Irrigation and Sanitation), Fatuma Nyaguthii Chege (Education), Esther Koimett (Broadcasting and Telecommunications) and Prof Julius Ouma Jwan of Vocational and Technical Training.

The list also has Social Protection PS Nelson Marwa Sospeter and his Environment, ICT, Agriculture, Vocational Training, University Education and Research and Health counterparts Dr Chris Kiprotich Kiptoo, Jerome Okoth Ochieng, Francis Otieno Owino, Dr Margaret Mwakima, Simon Wanyonyi Nabukwesi and Susan Nyamita Mochache respectively.

CASs Mercy Mwangangi Mukui (Health), Winnie Waceke Guchu (Interior) Sara Jerop Ruto (Education) and Prof Japhet Micheni Ntiba of State Law Office and Department of Justice as well as former PSs Fred Segor, Richard Belio Kipsang, Joseph Wairagu Irungu and Dr Nicholas Mwangi Muraguri have also been shortlisted.

Other popular names in the list include former Ethics and Anti-Corruption boss Halakhe Dida Waqo and ex-Isiolo Woman Rep Rehema Jaldesa who lost in gubernatorial and county MP race to Jubilee’s Abdi Ibrahim Guyo and Mumina Bonaya respectively.

The list also has former Nairobi Deputy Governor Jonathan Mwangangi Mueke who lost Kitui gubernatorial contest in August 9 elections and Bungoma Governor Ken Lusaka’s wife Margaret Nafula Makelo.

Six others from Isiolo including a top IEBC official Joyce Narumbe Ekuam Idumu and Nuh Mohamed Ibrahim who unsuccessfully contested for Isiolo Senate seat have also been listed. Others are Abdirashid Mohamed Jabane, Doreen Nkatha Muthaura, Mohamed Huka Jaldesa and Salad Kikuyu Karite.

The Public Service Commission indicated that only 477 persons were shortlisted out of 9154 who applied for the positions.

“Selection interviews to fill the advertised positions for PS in public service will be done from October 12 to October 22 following conclusion of shortlisting of applicants…,” the Commission shared.

Kenyans have been asked to send their views on the suitability of the shortlisted candidates through before the date of the interviews.

After the interview, an October 6 release said, the Commission will forward the names to President William Ruto for consideration for appointment as PSs.

The names of shortlisted candidates will be published in print media on October 7 (tomorrow).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here